HomeVisitorsResidentsMembersSummer Experiences WinterThings To DoTradeshows > Media / ImagesContact Us

For immediate release
April 1, 2011

Fort McMurray Tourism Highlights Successes in 2010 and Future Goals at AGM
The Fort McMurray Tourism Association held their Annual General Meeting on March 31, 2011 at the Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre. The well attended event showcased highlights of the past year and outlined objectives and opportunities for the future.

Guests included Frank Creasey, executive director for Alberta North Tourism Destination Region, one of six provincial tourism organizations within Travel Alberta’s structure, and Don Wilson industry consultant with Travel Alberta.

Outgoing Chairman Paul Jones shared the organization’s successes over the past year and outlined objectives for the future. Jones relayed the organization’s plans to develop a new visitor information and interpretive centre. “I hope to be standing here a year from now with the building plans on display”, enthused Jones.

The organization has grown and future plans will see the building house an interpretive wing showcasing the region’s First Nations people, early explorers, and the famous bush pilots who were stationed in Fort McMurray in the early 1900’s, and who aided in opening up the north by supporting exploration, education, health, and resource development.

Jones also congratulated the outgoing board and thanked them for their vision in developing the organization’s ten year strategy.

Office Manager Denise Barrow reported on the organization’s year-end financials and relayed the past year’s visitation statistics and fundraising successes via the annual spring and fall trade shows, marketing initiatives and industry bus tours to Suncor Energy. She indicated that surplus funds would be allocated towards the organization’s capital campaign.

Jeff Penney, the RMWB’s liaison on the tourism board, conducted the election of officers for 2011-2012. The newly elected directors include:

  • Peter Snook, Chairman
  • Angele Dobie, 1st Vice Chair
  • Patricia Oliver, 2nd Vice Chair
  • Jean-Marc Guillamot, Director
  • Tim Reid, Director
  • Joel Trudell, Director
  • Clarence Buchanan, Director
  • Lana Sweeney, Director
  • Shealagh Easton, Director
  • Laura Gallant, Director
  • Jeff Penney, RMWB Liaison

Paul Jones remains on the executive as Past Chairman.

For more information, please contact:
Peter Snook, President
Fort McMurray Tourism
For immediate release
April 1, 2011

<< Back To Articles

For information on upcoming tradeshows visit http://www.fortmcmurraytradeshows.com

Login | Powered By: Techweavers Inc.